A Nigerian-American journalist in Kenya

Just another WordPress.com site

More K24 Features September 17, 2010

Filed under: K24 — Chika Oduah @ 11:57 pm

I attended the Maker Faire Africa 2010 (http://makerfaireafrica.com/) a few weeks ago and had a blast. I learned about it back in July and knew that I had to do a story about. The 3-day event brings together artists, creators, engineers and the like from around Africa to showcase technology and various art work. I met a South African, a Tanzanian, Ghanaian, Rwandan, and other Africans. I also met a Nigerian guy…named Chika! We were so happy to see each other. This story was also an exclusive; no other broadcast news company featured it. But the Maker Faire Africa really is a big deal because it truly is breeding ground for innovation and Africa’s next technology genius will be there. I’m already planning to attend the Maker Faire Africa 2011. Here is the video that I did: (By the way, I wasn’t able to get a camera operator, so I was doing the camera work all by myself.)

Finishing the dyslexia story was quite difficult, but i finally got it done. First, I never got permission from Kenyan’s Ministry of Education to conduct interviews with teachers, so that took a big chunk out of the story. And secondly, I was not able to find another dyslexic kid to focus on for the story. For part 1, Felix Kariuki (Phyllis’ son) was the “face.” I wanted another face for part 2, but it was nearly impossible. Parents didn’t want their kids on the camera. One lady kept canceling our schedule interview, and so on. So, part 2 ended up being more ‘official’ that the first part, with numerous organizational representatives and stuff.

 

Leave a comment