A Nigerian-American journalist in Kenya

Just another WordPress.com site

Karibu! July 2, 2010

Filed under: Dreams of youth — Admin @ 7:42 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

I used to dream about Kenya as a little girl. Lying on my belly, I’d watch the clouds drifting from beyond the ivory lace curtains in my bedroom. Slowly drifting clouds. And I’d wonder if those were the same clouds that children see in Kenya.

In my mind, Kenya evoked excitement and romanticism. And at 13 years old, my idea of romance was sitting in a field of tall grass listening to exotic birds and drinking mango juice. I’d fallen in love with Karen Blixen’s “Out of Africa,” with the lilting guitar riffs and tight harmonies of local musicians, with the beautiful syllables of kiswahili (“hakuna matata”) and with the legacy of Jomo Kenyatta.

I promised myself that I’d go to Kenya and perhaps have a home there. I’ve constructed the home in my mind numerous times. Red in color. Bungalow in shape. Quaint in design. Close to nature.

A decade later, I’m in Kenya. The next three months, I plan to soak up everything: the language, the food, the clothing, the colors of the earth, the smell of the air, everything.

I’m a Nigerian-American in Kenya. You are welcome to share my experiences. Karibu!

For more info about me, visit: www.chika-oduah.com 

 

15 Responses to “Karibu!”

  1. Ashley Says:

    beautiful words! nice blog

  2. Mrs. Shola Adeniyi-Lamodi Says:

    Hi Chika,

    I am so excited for you. Love your stories – they are inspiring , Asanti !
    I am glad you are having a blast and looking forward to reading more from you. Take good care of you.

    Sis Shola,
    ATL, GA.

  3. Eloje Eluka Says:

    I continue to enjoy watching your stories about Kenya. I admire your profound commitment to public service. Personally, the clip on “Business Etiquette” has been the most interesting so far. There is always so much to learn. I couldn’t believe how beautiful Kenya is. The colonial mansion is such a great sight…. Kenya is so rich in culture… Keep up the good work…. we are always proud of you… As always, I offer you my best wishes and I pray that you have lasting success in all that you do…. Cheers!

  4. Chris Afuberoh Says:

    Hi Chika,

    Your daddy sent this website to me. It was really nice reading your story. I am really happy for you and so proud to have you as my niece!!.

  5. Bobby Alioha Says:

    Wow. Every now and again I just stop and think to myself “Wow, Chika is in Kenya!!” And I realize that God has been faithful to you and providing resources for each and every one of your needs. As Psalm 37 reads, “delight yourself in the Lord and He will give you the desires of your heart.” As a child you delighted in the Lord. As a teen, you didn’t waver. In college, the same. And you are in Kenya now and giving us a glimpse, a view into this beautiful country. Awesome! Keep it up!! I am staying tuned. 🙂

  6. Uche Oduah Says:

    Hi Chika,

    We the entire Oduah Family are very proud of you and your work out there. Aunt Ifeoma Oduah told me you went to Kenya i was scared thinking and believing that Kenya is not safe, we all kept praying for you and here you are with the best. Am happy for you and proud having you as cousin. Keep it up and face the challenges. Wow!!! Kenya is Beautiful. God bless you and give you wisdom.

  7. Nollywood Says:

    Happy to have found your blog and look forward to reading about your adventures in Kenya

  8. Hello Chika,

    I discovered this blog by chance. I read your comment on an article on SaharaReporters and followed the link to this blog. Wow! I am so very proud of your accomplishments. I assume that you have graduated from Medill. That’s really exciting.

    I must tell you that your writing is top-notch, your insight exhilarating, and your passion and enthusiasm infectious. I can’t tell you how proud this blog–and your progress in life–makes me, Chika! Keep it up and do keep in touch.

    Farooq, GSU

  9. David Says:

    You are very very beautiful! Are you married, i want to marry a smart and very brave woman like yourself. My coworker showed me this website and I like it. You have so much talents and skills in writing and journalism. Let us keep in touch.


Leave a Reply

